It can help to organize topics by time period - but historical eras do not always have clear start and end dates. Not all topics fit neatly within named time period. The time periods here are meant to be broad generalizations to aid in organization. Names have been gleaned from a number of sites that focus on History Day support/resources.
It was requested that resources be presented by time period as well as by broad subjects. Not all topics fit nicely into time periods, but we will attempt to organize links to resources by time periods.
See also:
First Encounters and the Colonial Era (pre-1775)
Revolutionary War and a New Nation (1775-1815)
The Era of Reform (1815-1859)
Civil War and Reconstruction (1860-1877)
Rise of Industrial America (1878-1900)
Progressive to New Eras (1900-1929)
Great Depression and World War II (1929-1945)
Post War United States (1945-1968)
Contemporary United States (1969-present)
These are a few examples.
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
See resources below and sub-pages on the left navigation bar.
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
These are only a few examples, besides those listed on sub-pages.
This guide covers military and war events prior to the U.S. Revolutionary period - mostly that took place in area now known as the State of Connecticut. The concept of military is loosely applied.
The Connecticut State Library recognizes language can be problematic, especially historic language. Historic writings often include language that would be considered charged and/or offensive today. We often look to standards within librarianship. Researching this time period often requires variation in spelling and terms (ex. wars or warres).
Research on this topic will, most likely, involve extensive use of our History & Genealogy resources, as well as Archives and federal documents. See sure to check our general guides, as that information will not be repeated here.
These are only a few examples.
Often online access is available through our library catalog - scroll down for links.
Brethren by Nature
by
LibGuides description: "In Brethren by Nature, Margaret Ellen Newell reveals a little-known aspect of American history: English colonists in New England enslaved thousands of Indians. Massachusetts became the first English colony to legalize slavery in 1641, and the colonists' desire for slaves shaped the major New England Indian wars, including the Pequot War of 1637, King Philip's War of 1675-76, and the northeastern Wabanaki conflicts of 1676-1749. When the wartime conquest of Indians ceased, New Englanders turned to the courts to get control of their labor, or imported Indians from Florida and the Carolinas, or simply claimed free Indians as slaves. Drawing on letters, diaries, newspapers, and court records, Newell recovers the slaves' own stories and shows how they influenced New England society in crucial ways. Indians lived in English homes, raised English children, and manned colonial armies, farms, and fleets, exposing their captors to Native religion, foods, and technology. Some achieved freedom and power in this new colonial culture, but others experienced violence, surveillance, and family separations. Newell also explains how slavery linked the fate of Africans and Indians. The trade in Indian captives connected New England to Caribbean and Atlantic slave economies. Indians labored on sugar plantations in Jamaica, tended fields in the Azores, and rowed English naval galleys in Tangier. Indian slaves outnumbered Africans within New England before 1700, but the balance soon shifted. Fearful of the growing African population, local governments stripped Indian and African servants and slaves of legal rights and personal freedoms. Nevertheless, because Indians remained a significant part of the slave population, the New England colonies did not adopt all of the rigid racial laws typical of slave societies in Virginia and Barbados. Newell finds that second- and third-generation Indian slaves fought their enslavement and claimed citizenship in cases that had implications for all enslaved peoples in eighteenth-century America."
Much of the information will be in our secured collections. Contacting the History & Genealogy Unit is recommended.
Check our guide:
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
Resources for History Day.
These are only examples.
New England governments recognized tribes and conducted legal business with them during the Colonial Period, so that many historical documents are not under the Federal Government's Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), but with the colony and/or state. Ask a librarian for help with this.
Many of the documents regarding recognition of tribes in the State of Connecticut are held in the Law Vault.
Note on language: The Connecticut State Library has resources from many different time periods and historic language is reflected in them.
These are examples of some of the resources available from the Connecticut State Archives.
Much of this information is not available online. It is recommended to contact the History & Genealogy desk before coming to visit, as items need to be pulled from secured collections.
Learn how to request and use archival collections.
Subscription databases require a card from the Connecticut State Library for remote access.
Biographies, events, primary sources, timelines, images, maps and charts, tribes and culture areas. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
With more than 900 unique titles and 900,000 pages dedicated to American Indian Law, this collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
These are only a few suggestions - it is always recommended to search our catalog for additional sources.
PLEASE note publication dates - historic items may contain some terms that today’s readers may consider obsolete and inappropriate.
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States
by
"Today in the United States, there are more than five hundred federally-recognized Indigenous nations comprising nearly three million people, descendants of the fifteen million Native people who once inhabited this land. The centuries-long genocidal program of the US settler-colonial regimen has largely been omitted from history. Now historian and activist Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz offers a history of the United States told from the perspective of Indigenous peoples and reveals how Native Americans, for centuries, actively resisted expansion of the US empire. In An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States, Dunbar-Ortiz challenges the founding myth of the United States and shows how policy against the Indigenous peoples was colonialist and designed to seize the territories of the original inhabitants, displacing or eliminating them. And as Dunbar-Ortiz reveals, this policy was praised in popular culture, through writers like James Fenimore Cooper and Walt Whitman, and in the highest offices of government and the military. As the genocidal policy reached its zenith under President Andrew Jackson, its ruthlessness was best articulated by US Army general Thomas S. Jesup, who, in 1836, wrote of the Seminoles: "The country can be rid of them only by exterminating them." Spanning more than four hundred years, this classic bottom-up peoples' history radically reframes US history and explodes the silences that have haunted our national narrative."--Publisher's description.
Treaties with American Indians: an Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty [3 Volumes]
by
Provides a comprehensive introduction to the treaties that promised land, self-government, financial assistance, and cultural protections to many of the tribes of North America, including Alaska, Hawaii, and Canada. Explores the historical, political, legal, and geographical contexts in which each treaty took shape.
Annual Reports for the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA)
Annual Reports for the Secretary of the Interior
Federal Indian law.
United States. Department of the Interior. Office of the Solicitor. ; Cohen, Felix S., 1907-1953.
Publication: Washington : United States Government Printing Office 1958
Connecticut State Library Law Vault KF8205 .C6 1958
Handbook of Federal Indian law : with reference tables and index
Cohen, Felix S., 1907-1953. ; Ickes, Harold L. (Harold LeClair), 1874-1952.; Margold, Nathan R.; United States. Department of the Interior. Office of the Solicitor.
Washington, D.C. : U. S. Govt. Printing Office 1942
Earlier editions also avaialble
Connecticut State Library Law Vault KF8205 .C6 1988
Cohen's handbook of federal Indian law.
Cohen, Felix S., 1907-1953. ; Newton, Nell Jessup.
San Francisco, CA : LexisNexis 2012
Earlier editions also available
Connecticut State Library Law Vault KF8205 .C6 2012 plus Pocket Part
Treaties with American Indians an encyclopedia of rights, conflicts, and sovereignty
Fixico, Donald Lee, 1951-
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO c2008
Connecticut State Library Stacks KF8203.6 .T74 2008
The encyclopedia of Native American legal tradition
Johansen, Bruce E. (Bruce Elliott), 1950-
Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press 1998
Connecticut State Library Stacks KF8204 .E53 1998
Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the United States
1929
Online through HeinOnline American Indian Law Collection. Requires a library card from Connecticut State Library.
Survey of conditions of the Indians in the United States hearings before a subcommittee of the Committee on Indian affairs
United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs.
Washington : U.S. Govt. Print. Off. 1929-1944
Connecticut State Library Newspaper Room Microfiche E93 .U55 1929a
Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties (Kappler)
Online through HeinOnline American Indian Law Collection. Requires a library card from Connecticut State Library for remote access.
Indian affairs : laws and treaties
United States. ; Kappler, Charles Joseph, 1868-1946.; United States. Department of the Interior.
Washington : U.S. G.P.O. 1904-
Connecticut State Library Federal Documents I 1.107:6
Indian affairs : Laws and treaties
United States. ; Kappler, Charles Joseph, 1868-1946.; United States.
New York : AMS Press 1971, i.e. 1972
Connecticut State Library Stacks KF8203 1972
Supplement to Kappler's Indian affairs, laws and treaties : compiled federal regulations relating to Indians
United States. ; Kappler, Charles Joseph, 1868-1946.; United States.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of the Interior 1975
Connecticut State Library Federal Documents I 1.77:K 14
Kappler revisited : an index and bibliographic guide to American Indian treaties
Bernholz, Charles D. ; Kappler, Charles Joseph, 1868-1946.
Kenmore, N.Y. : Epoch Books c2003
Connecticut State Library Stacks KF8201.A1 B47 2003
A Different Mirror
by
Lib Guides: "Describes the immigrant experiences of Japanese, African, Irish, and Jewish Americans, exposing the abuses suffered by Native Americans, slaves, and workers who built the country."
Beyond Conquest : Native Peoples and the Struggle for History in New England.
by
Publisher description: By focusing on the complex cultural and political facets of Native resistance to encroachment on reservation lands during the eighteenth century in southern New England, Beyond Conquest reconceptualizes indigenous histories and debates over Native land rights. As Amy E. Den Ouden demonstrates, Mohegans, Pequots, and Niantics living on reservations in New London County, Connecticut--where the largest indigenous population in the colony resided--were under siege by colonists who employed various means to expropriate reserved lands. Natives were also subjected to the policies of a colonial government that sought to strictly control them and that undermined Native land rights by depicting reservation populations as culturally and politically illegitimate. Although colonial tactics of rule sometimes incited internal disputes among Native women and men, reservation communities and their leaders engaged in subtle and sometimes overt acts of resistance to dispossession, thus demonstrating the power of historical consciousness, cultural connections to land, and ties to local kin. The Mohegans, for example, boldly challenged colonial authority and its land encroachment policies in 1736 by holding a "great dance," during which they publicly affirmed the leadership of Mahomet and, with the support of their Pequot and Niantic allies, articulated their intent to continue their legal case against the colony. Beyond Conquest demonstrates how the current Euroamerican scrutiny and denial of local Indian identities is a practice with a long history in southern New England, one linked to colonial notions of cultural--and ultimately "racial"--Illegitimacy that emerged in the context of eighteenth-century disputes regarding Native land rights.
Annotated bibliographies list resources on a specific topic and include notes, or annotations, about the resource. They are not full text or research indexes. But they can be very helpful.
See also pages on Military.
These resources reflect Native Americans who served in the military, and their interactions with military.
Much of the information will be in our secured collections. Contacting the History & Genealogy Unit is recommended.
Check our guide:
This section is for when just "Pequot" is used, and not more specific names.
The Life of William Apess, Pequot
by
Revenge of the Pequots
by
On June 24, 2002, The Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs Neal A. McCaleb gave final determination finds that there is a single tribe composed of the Eastern Pequot Tribe (petition #35) and the Paucatuck Eastern Pequot Tribe (petition #113). See link below.
Medicine Trail: the Life and Lessons of Gladys Tantaquidgeon
by
"Blending autobiography and history with traditional knowledge and ways of life, Medicine Trail presents a collage of events in Gladys Tantaquidgeon's life. We see her childhood spent learning Mohegan ceremonies and healing methods at the hands of her tribal grandmothers, and her Ivy League education and career in the white-male-dominated field of anthropology. We also witness her travels to other Indian communities, acting as both an ambassador of her own tribe and an employee of the federal government's Bureau of Indian affairs. Finally we see Tantaquidgeon's return to her beloved Mohegan Hill, where she cofounded America's oldest Indian-run museum, carrying on her life's commitment to good medicine and the cultural continuance and renewal of all Indian nations." "Written in the Mohegan oral tradition, this book offers a unique insider's understanding of Mohegan and other Native American cultures while discussing the major policies and trends that have affected people throughout Indian Country in the twentieth century. A significant departure from traditional anthropological "as told to" American Indian autobiography, Medicine Trail represents a major contribution to anthropology, history, theology, women's studies, and Native American studies."--BOOK JACKET.
Governor and Company of Connecticut, and Moheagan Indian by Their Guardians
Uncas : First of the Mohegans
by
During the Pequot Wars, defeated tribes were dispersed and/or sent to Caribbean as well as enslaved by colonists.
See also Previous Topics guide.
A History of Connecticut's Golden Hill Paugussett Tribe
by
LibGuides: "From triumphs to tragedies, A History of Connecticut's Golden Hill Paugussett Tribe vividly recounts the long lost history of southwestern Connecticut's Paugussett tribe. Since the arrival of Columbus, Native Americans have endured countless hardships. Like all of New England's indigenous people, western Connecticut's Paugussett tribe has suffered injustice and fought determinedly to preserve their cultural identity. In A History of Connecticut's Golden Hill Paugussett Tribe, author Charles Brilvitch passionately chronicles the tribe's struggles and fascinating history through the Victorian era to the present, and traces their traditions and ongoing determination to preserve an irreplaceable and vanishing culture."
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
These are only a few suggestions. Search our: library catalog; State Archives finding aids; databases; digital collections.
These are only some suggestions. The Connecticut State Library has many primary sources.
See John Mason box on this page.
The Connecticut State Library (CSL) focuses on Connecticut and therefore will have more resources on the Connecticut Witch Trials. These first occurred almost 50 years before the Salem trials.
Below are some examples of resources for studying the Connecticut Witch Trials and topics related to witchcraft in Colonial period. This is not to be a complete/comprehensive list. New resources are digitized and/or added to our collection and may not be reflected in this guide. Many of the resources are not online, and are in restricted collections (must be used on site at CSL) that should be requested in advance by contacting the History & Genealogy Unit (860-757-6580).
It is recommended that you begin your research with our History & Genealogy unit.
See also the books below and resources above.
These are just a few suggested items that might help with your research. It is recommended to always search our catalog and archive finding aids.
Witch-Hunting in Seventeenth-Century New England 2nd ed.
by
Witch Hunts in Europe and America
by
Before Salem :: Witch Hunting in the Connecticut River Valley, 1647-1663
by
Connecticut Witch Trials
by
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
See also History & Genealogy Reference guides as well as History Day topic pages and other guides listed on the home page of this guide.
These are only a few examples.
Not everyone in the colonies supported independence from England. Those who remained loyal to England were called Loyalists or Tories.
See also guide pages:
What makes a “patriot” and what makes a Loyalist and how did towns treat them?
Look at Loyalists/Patriots is RG000 Connecticut Archives, Revolutionary War Series. There are also records in the various county court records (there is an index online, RG003) and probate records (RG004).
See History Day guide page under Military > Revolutionary Period
See also the main History Day Guide.
These are just some suggestions. Consult with our History & Genealogy unit for more.
Benedict Arnold, Revolutionary Hero : An American Warrior Reconsidered
by
LibGuides: "Benedict Arnold stands as one of the most vilified figures in American history. Stories of his treason have so come to define him that his name, like that of Judas, is virtually synonymous with treason. Yet Arnold was one of the most heroic and remarkable men of his time, indeed in all of American history. A brilliant military leader of uncommon bravery, Arnold dedicated himself to the Revolutionary cause, sacrificing family life, health, and financial well-being for a conflict that left him physically crippled, sullied by false accusations, and profoundly alienated from the American cause of liberty. By viewing Arnold's life backward through the prism of his treason, we invariably succumb to the demonizations that arose only after his abandonment of the rebel forces. We thereby overlook his critical role as one of the influential actors in the American Revolution. Distinguished historian James Kirby Martin's landmark biography, the result of a decade's labor, stands as an invaluable antidote to this historical distortion. Careful not to endow the Revolutionary generation with mythical proportions of virtue, Martin shows how self-serving, venal behavior was just as common in the Revolutionary era as in our own time. Arnold, a deeply committed patriot, suffered acutely because of his lack of political savvy in dealing with those who attacked his honor and reputation. Tracing Arnold's life, from his difficult childhood through his grueling winter trek across the howling Maine wilderness, his valiant defense of Lake Champlain, and his crucial role in the Quebec and Saratoga campaigns, Martin has given us an entirely new perspective on this dramatic and exceptional life, set against the tumultuous background of the American Revolution."
A Hero and a Spy : The Revolutionary War Correspondence of Benedict Arnold
by
LIBGUIDES summary: "With the passing of time, Benedict Arnold the traitor has overshadowed Benedict Arnold the hero. Those who know of his extraordinary sacrifices for the colonies during the American Revolution are still confounded by his defection to the British side. Fort..."
Treacherous Beauty
by
Jerks in Connecticut History
by
These are a few examples; this is not meant to be comprehensive. Many of the resources are not online.
Also check the general History Day guide, as links might not be repeated here.
These are only a few examples. Please check our catalog and archives finding aids for more sources.
George Pausch's Journal and Reports of the Campaign in America
by
LIBGUIDES: "When England was faced with the necessity of trying to suppress the revolt in the American Colonies in 1775, there were not enough men in the kingdom to fulfill all the English military commitments. Therefore, England turned to the continent of Europe and.."
These are guides from other libraries. The Connecticut State Library may have many of federal documents listed. It is highly unlikely to have access to any of the subscription resources listed.
Note: See also other time periods, such as the War of 1812. Some items listed here may cover time periods beyond the American Revolution - check sources.
The Oxford English Dictionary definition:
privateer, n.
1. a. An armed vessel owned and crewed by private individuals, and holding a government commission known as a letter of marque (see letter of marque n. at marque n.1 2) authorizing the capture of merchant shipping belonging to an enemy nation. Now historical.
b. The commander or a member of the crew of a privateer. Now historical.
- "privateer, n.". OED Online. September 2021. Oxford University Press. https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/151605?rskey=os5nXq&result=1 (accessed November 16, 2021).
During the American Revolution, the Continental navy needed support against the British Navy and turned to privateers. It was an established practice with European countries that, during a war, contracted privateers could attack enemy vessels (including trade vessels). Privateers were issued letters of marque that granted them permission to seize enemy ships. Pirates lacked the legal letters of marque issued from a valid government. England did not recognize the Colonies as a legitimate government, and considered the privateers to be pirates. Letters of marque were issued by Continental government, and Connecticut issued their own as well. Journals of the Continental Congress and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set contain information about who were issued letters of marque. There was a question during the U.S. Civil War if the ships supporting the Confederate army were privateers or pirates. Privateering was prohibited by the 1856 Treaty of Paris, but the U.S.A. did not sign the treaty.
Long Island Sound supported privateers, with the lower Connecticut River and New London Harbor prime locations. There were several shipyards, which built smaller and faster ships than the British naval ships. These locally built ships could escape up the Connecticut and Thames Rivers. New London had a large whaling fleet and the Thames River was deep enough to accommodate larger ships. Nathaniel Shaw, Jr., of New London, acting as Connecticut’s Naval Agent and Continental agent, issued the letters of marque for that area.
Some Connecticut people involved in privateering, or owning shares in privateer ships: Benedict Arnold; Nathaniel Shaw, Jr.; Captain Thomas Allon; William Packwood; Joseph Packwood; Samuel Smedley; Ashbel Riley; Capt. Gideon Olmsted.
Some ships were: General Putnam; John; Governor Trumbull; Ranger; Snake.
Sources are from items listed on this page.
These are resources that cross over more than one time period. See sections for specific wars/time periods.
Connecticut Pirates and Privateers : treasure and treachery in the Constitution State
LibGuide description: "The waters, inlets and islands of Connecticut once swarmed with fabled corsairs like Captain Kidd and Blackbeard who may have buried their booty in Constitution State soil. In colonial times and through the nineteenth century, over one hundred privateers used the Connecticut River and waterways as a home port, influencing the geopolitics of the time. During the Revolutionary War, the infamous traitor Benedict Arnold attempted to destroy the state's privateer fleet. In 1779, Captain Elisha Hinman cleverly devised a system that allowed the large privateer ship Governor Trumbull to avoid enemy attack by becoming super-buoyant and passing over dangerous shoals. Wick Griswold uncovers the swashbuckling stories of Connecticut's pirates and privateers, brimming with historical facts and local myths."
The Negro in the American Revolution
by
Who's Who in Davy Jones' Locker? : (A Biographical Directory of Pirates, Buccaneers and Privateers). 1st ed.
Piracy and Maritime Crime Historical and Modern Case Studies
by
"This monograph is intended as a contribution to both scholarship and professional naval thinking; it is an academic and comparative examination of twelve selected case studies from maritime history used to illuminate a range of concepts and uses of piracy suppression. The twelve case studies provide the basis for the conclusions, an approach that provides a more thorough understanding of the uses and limitations of naval antipiracy operations in the context of new maritime technologies and within a wider range of modern national policy goals than might otherwise be achievable. Above all this collection provides a sound basis for comparative analysis of varying historical experiences that can stimulate new and original thinking about a basic but often overlooked naval duty."--Foreword
These are resources that cross over more than one time period. See sections for specific wars/time periods.
These are resources for this specific time period. For resources that cover more than one time period, see other sections on this page.
Patriot Pirates
by
A revelation of America's War of Independence, a sweeping tale of maritime rebel-entrepreneurs bent on personal profit as well as national freedom. Privateers were legalized pirates empowered by the Continental Congress to raid and plunder, at their own considerable risk, as much enemy trade as they could successfully haul back to America's shores. Patton writes how privateering engaged all levels of Revolutionary life, from the dockyards to the assembly halls; how it gave rise to an often cutthroat network of agents who sold captured goods and sparked wild speculation in purchased shares in privateer ventures, enabling sailors to make more money in a month than they might otherwise earn in a year; and how they turned their seafaring talents to the slave trade. Vast fortunes made through privateering survive to this day, among them those of the Peabodys, Cabots, and Lowells of Massachusetts, and the Derbys and Browns of Rhode Island.--From publisher description.
Samuel Smedley: Connecticut Privateer
by
LibGuides summary: "From the shores of Long Island Sound to the high seas of the West Indies, against British warships and letters of marque, Samuel Smedley left a stream of smoke and blood as he took prisoners and prizes alike. At twenty-three years old, Smedley, a Fairfield, Connecticut native, enlisted as a lieutenant of marines on the Connecticut ship Defence during the American Revolution. Less than a year later he was her captain, scouring the seas for British prey. Author Jackson Kuhl delves into the life and times of this Patriot, sea captain and privateer."
Two Revolutionary War Privateers
LibGuides description: "Two Connecticut naval merchants become privateers and make numerous voyages to the Caribbean to obtain wartime supplies."
Sailing under John Paul Jones : The Memoir of Continental Navy Midshipman Nathaniel Fanning, 1778-1783
"Connecticut privateer Nathaniel Fanning (1755-1805) was captured by the British during the Revolutionary War. Upon his release, he joined the Continental Navy and sailed as a midshipman under Admiral John Paul Jones during his most famous battles. Fanning later obtained his own command, sailing from French ports to prey upon British warships. This new edition of Fanning's memoir-first published in 1806-provides a vivid account of wartime peril and hardship at sea, and a first-hand character study of Jones as an apparent tyrant and narcissist. Vocabulary, spelling and narrative style have changed in the more than two centuries since Fanning's chronicle, and some details clash with historical and geographical data. The editor has updated and annotated the text for modern readers."-
Naval Officers of the American Revolution : a concise biographical dictionary
These are resources for this specific time period. For resources that cover more than one time period, see other sections on this page.
The British Raid on Essex
The Connecticut State Library recognizes language can be problematic, especially historic language. Historic writings often include language that would be considered charged and/or offensive today. We often look to standards within librarianship. Researching this time period often requires variation in spelling and terms.
These are just some resources. Check with History & Genealogy too.
These are a few suggested titles. Check our library catalog for more.
Reliable and Religious
by
Online in HathiTrust
From the Back Cover: "Army chaplains in the War of 1812 were a diverse group of dedicated clergymen. They marched with the troops, fought Indians and the British, and ministered to their troops. Some chaplains showed Christian compassion to British prisoners of war. Many of the chaplains served far from home for extended periods of time. Other chaplains served in their hometowns for only a few days or a couple of weeks. Religiously, the chaplains represented every Protestant denomination in America in the early nineteenth century. They were a committed group of clergy dedicated to freedom from what they perceived as British oppression. Some chaplains were regular army, but most were militia chaplains. Some of these military clergymen were injured, wounded, or died while on military orders. Their story of providing religious strength and support to the fledgling American Army is here told for the first time."
The British Raid on Essex
Also called the New England Convention. December 15, 1814 through January 5, 1815, delegates from New England states met for several weeks to draw up amendments to the US Constitution. The delegate were Federalists and their opposition to the War of 1812 had repercussions for the Federalist Party. The Hartford Convention did not consider secession, but was accused of this. The Federalist Party's stance on the War of 1812 and the Hartford Convention impacted their political power and the Connecticut Constitution of 1818.
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
Be sure to try different terms when researching this topic.
Be sure to check our main research guides.
These are just a few examples, other record groups from the time period may contain relevant information.
These are only a few examples.
Freedom by the Sword
by
The Civil War: the First Year Told by Those Who Lived It
LibGuides: "The first volume in a four-volume series on the American Civil War-featuring first-hand writings from Ulysses S. Grant, Robert E. Lee, Abraham Lincoln, and more After 150 years the Civil War is still our greatest national drama, at once heroic, tragic, and epic-our Iliad, but also our Bible, a story of sin and judgment, suffering and despair, death and resurrection in a "new birth of freedom." Drawn from letters, diaries, speeches, articles, poems, songs, military reports, legal opinions, and memoirs,The Civil War- The First Yeargathers over 120 pieces by more than sixty participants to create a unique firsthand narrative of this great historical crisis. Beginning on the eve of Lincoln's election in November 1860 and ending in January 1862 with the appointment of Edwin M. Stanton as secretary of war, this volume presents writing by figures well-known-Ulysses S. Grant, Robert E. Lee, Mary Chesnut, Frederick Douglass, and Lincoln himself among them-and less familiar, like proslavery advocate J.D.B. DeBow, Lieutenants Charles B. Haydon of the 2nd Michigan Infantry and Henry Livermore Abbott of the 20th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment, and plantation mistresses Catherine Edmondston of North Carolina and Kate Stone of Mississippi. Together, the selections provide a powerful sense of the immediacy, uncertainty, and urgency of events as the nation was torn asunder. Includes headnotes, a chronology of events, biographical and explanatory endnotes, full-color hand-drawn endpaper maps, and an index. Companion volumes will gather writings from the second, third, and final years of the conflict. LIBRARY OF AMERICAis an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries."
Daughters of the Union Northern Women Fight The Civil War
by
These are only a few examples.
The Connecticut State Library and the Museum of Connecticut History have a few diaries of people who were at Andersonville.
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
See separate pages for World War I
This page covers the broader topic of prohibition.
These are a few examples.
Social and Economic Control of Alcohol : the 21st amendment in the 21st century
by
These are just some items on prohibition and Woman's Christian Temperance Union.
Sometimes Woman's is used, and sometimes Women's is used. Try searching both.
Search our catalog for many more items than listed.
Suggested terms: Temperance ; Prohibition ; 18th Amendment
Woman and Temperance : or, The work and workers of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union
by
These are a few examples.
These are only some suggestions for the many topics you can research at the Connecticut State Library (CSL).
See additional pages in this guide for related topics.
Note: Before World War II (WWII), World War I (WWI) was called The Great War, The War to End All Wars, The World War and other such names. It was not called WWI until after there was a second world war. Be sure to use variations in your subject terms when researching.
These are some examples.
The United States Marine Corps in the World War
by
GPO: "In 1919, then-Major Edwin N. McClellan was charged with researching and writing the official history of Marines in the First World War. The United States Marine Corps in the World War was first published in 1920, and reprinted in 1968 by the Historical Division. The 2015 reprint includes additional information on key leaders as well as images not included in the 1920 or 1968 editions. McClellan, the History Division’s first director, described his work in the explanatory note, stating that “this brief history has been prepared for the purpose of acquainting both the personnel of the service and the public with the general facts concerning the United States Marine Corps in the World War.” McClellan’s basic reasoning behind the publication has remained the primary mission of the History Division to this date.
This centennial reprint is the inaugural publication in the History Division’s U.S. Marines in World War I Centennial Commemorative Series. Additional works will be published through 2018 and include battle studies, research aids, and articles on various aspects of Marine Corps participation in the war."
The Connecticut State Library (CSL) does not subscribe to the same paid databases, and access to some resources on other libraries' guides may not be available. A library card from CSL is required to access our subscription databases that have remote access. Many U.S. federal documents listed on the guides below will be available at CSL.
This is to just give some examples and ideas.
See other boxes as well, especially the Creel Committee and Connecticut State Council of Defense.
The "State Defense Council is Connecticut Agency of Federal Government. Appointed by Governor Marcus H. Holcomb to Mobilize State's Resources for War and Make Them Available to United States - It is Official Connecticut Arm of Council of National Defense." (Connecticut Bulletin, Vol. 1, no.1. July 13, 1917, p.1). The Council of National Defense was established by an act of Congress August 29, 1916. On April 26, 1917 Governor Holcomb issued a proclamation that appointed people to the newly formed state level council. His authority to do so came from Chapter 44 of the Public Acts of 1917. County and town auxiliary committees were also formed. More detail can be found in Connecticut Bulletin, Vol. 1, no.1. July 13, 1917 (ConnDoc St291c).
Be sure to check our catalog and digital collections for more resources. Those selected below focus on the 2021 theme of communication, for the most part. Many items have been digitized.
The Committee on Public Information (CPI) is often called the Creel Committee, after Chairman George Creel. Sometimes it is called the Public Information Commission. Try searching additional terms as a phrase.
The National Archives site (NARA) states (see link below): "The Committee on Public Information (CPI) was established by Executive Order 2594 as an independent agency in April 1917. The Committee consisted of the Secretary of State, the Secretary of War, and the Secretary of the Navy as ex officio members. Its functions were to release news of the government, issue information to sustain domestic morale, and to publicize America abroad. Domestic activities were discontinued after the Armistice in November 1918 and foreign operations were discontinued in June 1919."
Executive Order 3154 obsoletes Executive Order 2594 of April 14, 1917, which created the Committee on Public Information.
According to Words That Won the War (1939, see link below for more details), only about 25 % of the records of the CPI survived to be transferred to NARA (National Archives) in 1937 and "The Committee was so widespread in its ramifications that the collection touches nearly all phases of American and world affairs for the years 1917 to 1919." (p.viii).
The CPI had a foreign division and a home front division. Chronicling America might be a good resource to see how CPI put its message forth in newspapers.
Related: Woodrow Wilson, Military Intelligence Branch, Four Minute Men.
Note: Before World War II (WWII), World War I (WWI) was called The Great War, The War to End All Wars, The World War , and other such names. It was not called WWI until after there was a second world war. Be sure to use variations in your subject terms when researching.
Be sure to search our catalog for Committee on Public Information. These are only a few examples of what we have.
Not all of our older documents are in our library catalog, so please contact us if you are looking for a specific federal publication or need help finding older state and/or federal documents.
See also pages for Women and Women in the Military
These are a few examples.
See also pages on Military & Medicine; Red Cross.
These are only some examples. See sub-pages for related topics.
See also: the page for Demographic Groups in the Military section; Genocide under Civil & Human Rights page; and History Day Previous Topics guide.
This is only a very small sample of resources. See specific topics too.
Many of the federal documents highlighted by the Government Publishing Office (GPO) may be available at the Connecticut State Library or other FDLP libraries.
Integration of the Armed Forces, 1940-1965
by
These are a few examples.
These are guides from other libraries. The Connecticut State Library may have many of the federal documents listed on these guides. Most likely you will not have access to most of the subscription databases listed. A library card from the Connecticut State Library (CSL) is required to access our subscription databases that offer remote access through our use license.
There may be useful links to freely accessible web information.
See also the section on Women in the Military.
American Women in a World at War
by
LIBGUIDES: "This title brings together twenty-five writings by women who share their rich and varied World War II experiences, from serving in the military to working on the home front to preparing for the postwar world. By providing evidence of their active and resourceful roles in the war effort as workers, wives, and mothers, these women offer eloquent testimony that World War II was indeed everybody's war. Litoff and Smith combine pieces by well-known writers, such as Margaret Culkin Banning and Nancy Wilson Ross, with important-but largely forgotten-personal accounts by ordinary women living in extraordinary times. This volume is divided into the six sections listed below: Preparing for War In the Military At 'Far-Flung' Fronts On the Home Front War Jobs Preparing for the Postwar World"
Since You Went Away : World War II Letters from American Women on the Home Front
by
Integration of the Armed Forces, 1940-1965
by
See other sections of this guide as well. These are only a few examples of resources available.
Employment of Negro Troops
Integration of the Armed Forces, 1940-1965
by
See archived research guides as well. These are only a few examples.
See also military pages, especially WWII.
Search CT-N archive for videos of events, lectures, etc.
Tip: try searching just: holocaust
For items in subscription databases, a card for the Connecticut State Library is required.
First is a link to the entire database. Then there is a link to specific items, if that is possible. You will need to enter your CSL library card to access these online. Most congressional documents are available in the library and at other FDLP libraries near you. Contact us for help.
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
These are only a few suggestions. It is always recommended to search our library catalog.
Ethics of Research Involving Human Subjects
by
Medical Experimentation : Personal Integrity and Social Policy
by
These are only a few suggested search terms that might help you find information in our library catalog.
Medical ethics
Medicine, Experimental -- Law and legislation
Human experimentation in medicine
Human experimentation in medicine -- Moral and ethical aspects
Human experimentation in medicine -- Social aspects
Social control
These are only a few suggested sources. It is always recommended that you search our library catalog and databases.
Technically, Congress never declared this a war.
These are only a few examples of numerous resources.
These are only a few examples of our numerous resources.
The Greene Papers
GPO: "During the Vietnam War for the First Time in History the Marine Corps Commandant Served on the Joint Chiefs of Staff
The Greene Papers is an edited version of the personal papers of Gen. Wallace M. Greene, Jr., who served on the Joint Chiefs of Staff during the height of the Vietnam War. "The Vietnam War was the first major American war in which the Commandant of the Marine Corps served as a member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff during the critical years leading up to the conflict and the entire duration of the conflict.
For the first time, a Marine Corps Commandant was tasked with making strategic decisions on the same level as the Joint Chiefs of the Air Force, Army, and Navy. As a result, a volume examining the Marine Corps' leadership before and during the war strengthens our understanding of how the Commandant approached and balanced his traditional duties as a Service chief with the new responsibility of serving as a military advisor to the commander in chief, President Johnson."
The Battle Behind Bars: Navy and Marine POWs in the Vietnam War
GPO: "War in the jungles and an insufferable prisoner-of-war situation inflicted special hardships on the Vietnam-era POWs. This (ePub) describes their experiences—the similarities and the differences—and how the POWs coped with untreated wounds and other malaises, systematic torture, and boredom. The creative strategies they devised to stay fit, track time, resist the enemy, and communicate with one another."
War in the Shallows: U.S. Navy and Riverine Warfare in Vietnam, 1965-1968
by
GPO: "War in the Shallows: U.S. Navy and Riverine Warfare in Vietnam, 1965-1968 explores the operations of the Navy’s three inshore task forces from 1965 to 1968. America’s naval forces developed the most extensive maritime blockade in modern naval history and fought pitched battles against Viet Cong units in the Mekong Delta and elsewhere."
See also:
A Culture of Secrecy
by
LIBGUIDE: "The government is hiding information from its citizens-or so most Americans believe. While even some members of Congress now call for greater access to classified documents, federal agencies continue to withhold a massive amount of information in the name of national security, maintaining a culture of secrecy rooted in the Cold War. This new book examines who in government is hiding what from the rest of us, how they're doing it, and why it should matter to all of us. Contributing scholars, journalists, and attorneys survey the policies of federal intelligence agencies and presidents--notably Nixon, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton-to keep information secret. They show how these agencies have gone far beyond legitimate security needs to withhold information, and they describe the frustrations and costs encountered in their own efforts to obtain classified information. The authors review important cases exemplifying State Department, agency, and presidential efforts to withhold, destroy, or delay release of these records. In chapters centering on the Kennedy assassination, the Nixon tapes, and the FBI's files on John Lennon and the Supreme Court justices, readers will find an abundance of startling and disturbing revelations. By citing some of the methods used by agencies like the CIA, NSA, NSC, and FBI to circumvent the Freedom of Information Act--often with the cooperation of the judicial system--these essays clearly show that abuses of secrecy aren't limited to the withholding of information but extend to the absurd lengths taken to avoid disclosure."
Building for Peace : U.S. Army Engineers in Europe, 1945-1991
Forging the Shield: the U. S. Army in Europe, 1951-1962
The City Becomes a Symbol : The U.S. Army in the Occupation of Berlin, 1945-1949
by
Title variant: United States Army in the occupation of Berlin
"This book covers the period between the closing days of World War II in Europe in 1945 and the culmination of the Berlin airlift in 1949. It is based on the records of the U.S. military government in Berlin, the official records of many of the U.S. Army elements involved in the occupation, and the military and diplomatic correspondence of senior leaders in the United States, Britain, and France. Although much of it is focused upon the U.S. Army units involved in the occupation, the nature of events in Berlin requires a different perspective. This is also a story of soldier-diplomats, whose actions during the first five years of the occupation laid the groundwork for U.S.-Soviet relations for the rest of the twentieth century. And finally, it is also the story of the citizens of West Berlin, whose activism during the early postwar years rejected the overtures of Communist emissaries and firmly oriented their portion of the city toward the West."--From the Preface.
GPO Bookstore: The City Becomes a Symbol tells the story of the first four tumultuous years of the U.S. Army's occupation of West Berlin and how Berlin became the epicenter of superpower confrontation across all of Europe. The division of Berlin with occupation by Western and Soviet military forces set the stage for the decades-long face-off between the U.S. Army and Soviet forces until the Fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989.
Ultimately it was the citizens of Berlin who played a major role in determining the fate and political direction of their city and the whole of Germany until it's reintegration as a unified nation.
Get a first-hand account of this book on our blog: https://govbooktalk.gpo.gov/2017/12/18/holiday-reads-for-year-end-2017/
The City Becomes a Symbol : The U.S. Army in the Occupation of Berlin, 1945-1949
by
Title variant: United States Army in the occupation of Berlin
"This book covers the period between the closing days of World War II in Europe in 1945 and the culmination of the Berlin airlift in 1949. It is based on the records of the U.S. military government in Berlin, the official records of many of the U.S. Army elements involved in the occupation, and the military and diplomatic correspondence of senior leaders in the United States, Britain, and France. Although much of it is focused upon the U.S. Army units involved in the occupation, the nature of events in Berlin requires a different perspective. This is also a story of soldier-diplomats, whose actions during the first five years of the occupation laid the groundwork for U.S.-Soviet relations for the rest of the twentieth century. And finally, it is also the story of the citizens of West Berlin, whose activism during the early postwar years rejected the overtures of Communist emissaries and firmly oriented their portion of the city toward the West."--From the Preface.
GPO Bookstore: The City Becomes a Symbol tells the story of the first four tumultuous years of the U.S. Army's occupation of West Berlin and how Berlin became the epicenter of superpower confrontation across all of Europe. The division of Berlin with occupation by Western and Soviet military forces set the stage for the decades-long face-off between the U.S. Army and Soviet forces until the Fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989.
Ultimately it was the citizens of Berlin who played a major role in determining the fate and political direction of their city and the whole of Germany until it's reintegration as a unified nation.
Get a first-hand account of this book on our blog: https://govbooktalk.gpo.gov/2017/12/18/holiday-reads-for-year-end-2017/
See also page on President Kennedy:
The Kennedy Tapes
by
This topic may also fall under military intelligence, reconnaissance and foreign relations.
Formed in 1938.
Some people called before the committee and/or targeted: Dashiell Hammett, Waldo Salt, Lillian Hellman, Lena Horne, Paul Robeson, Elia Kazan, Arthur Miller, Aaron Copland, Leonard Bernstein, Charlie Chaplin and Group Theatre members Clifford Odets, Elia Kazan, and Stella Adler.
These are only a few examples of our numerous resources.
The Greene Papers
GPO: "During the Vietnam War for the First Time in History the Marine Corps Commandant Served on the Joint Chiefs of Staff
The Greene Papers is an edited version of the personal papers of Gen. Wallace M. Greene, Jr., who served on the Joint Chiefs of Staff during the height of the Vietnam War. "The Vietnam War was the first major American war in which the Commandant of the Marine Corps served as a member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff during the critical years leading up to the conflict and the entire duration of the conflict.
For the first time, a Marine Corps Commandant was tasked with making strategic decisions on the same level as the Joint Chiefs of the Air Force, Army, and Navy. As a result, a volume examining the Marine Corps' leadership before and during the war strengthens our understanding of how the Commandant approached and balanced his traditional duties as a Service chief with the new responsibility of serving as a military advisor to the commander in chief, President Johnson."
The Battle Behind Bars: Navy and Marine POWs in the Vietnam War
GPO: "War in the jungles and an insufferable prisoner-of-war situation inflicted special hardships on the Vietnam-era POWs. This (ePub) describes their experiences—the similarities and the differences—and how the POWs coped with untreated wounds and other malaises, systematic torture, and boredom. The creative strategies they devised to stay fit, track time, resist the enemy, and communicate with one another."
War in the Shallows: U.S. Navy and Riverine Warfare in Vietnam, 1965-1968
by
GPO: "War in the Shallows: U.S. Navy and Riverine Warfare in Vietnam, 1965-1968 explores the operations of the Navy’s three inshore task forces from 1965 to 1968. America’s naval forces developed the most extensive maritime blockade in modern naval history and fought pitched battles against Viet Cong units in the Mekong Delta and elsewhere."
See also:
A Culture of Secrecy
by
LIBGUIDE: "The government is hiding information from its citizens-or so most Americans believe. While even some members of Congress now call for greater access to classified documents, federal agencies continue to withhold a massive amount of information in the name of national security, maintaining a culture of secrecy rooted in the Cold War. This new book examines who in government is hiding what from the rest of us, how they're doing it, and why it should matter to all of us. Contributing scholars, journalists, and attorneys survey the policies of federal intelligence agencies and presidents--notably Nixon, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton-to keep information secret. They show how these agencies have gone far beyond legitimate security needs to withhold information, and they describe the frustrations and costs encountered in their own efforts to obtain classified information. The authors review important cases exemplifying State Department, agency, and presidential efforts to withhold, destroy, or delay release of these records. In chapters centering on the Kennedy assassination, the Nixon tapes, and the FBI's files on John Lennon and the Supreme Court justices, readers will find an abundance of startling and disturbing revelations. By citing some of the methods used by agencies like the CIA, NSA, NSC, and FBI to circumvent the Freedom of Information Act--often with the cooperation of the judicial system--these essays clearly show that abuses of secrecy aren't limited to the withholding of information but extend to the absurd lengths taken to avoid disclosure."
Building for Peace : U.S. Army Engineers in Europe, 1945-1991
Forging the Shield: the U. S. Army in Europe, 1951-1962
The City Becomes a Symbol : The U.S. Army in the Occupation of Berlin, 1945-1949
by
Title variant: United States Army in the occupation of Berlin
"This book covers the period between the closing days of World War II in Europe in 1945 and the culmination of the Berlin airlift in 1949. It is based on the records of the U.S. military government in Berlin, the official records of many of the U.S. Army elements involved in the occupation, and the military and diplomatic correspondence of senior leaders in the United States, Britain, and France. Although much of it is focused upon the U.S. Army units involved in the occupation, the nature of events in Berlin requires a different perspective. This is also a story of soldier-diplomats, whose actions during the first five years of the occupation laid the groundwork for U.S.-Soviet relations for the rest of the twentieth century. And finally, it is also the story of the citizens of West Berlin, whose activism during the early postwar years rejected the overtures of Communist emissaries and firmly oriented their portion of the city toward the West."--From the Preface.
GPO Bookstore: The City Becomes a Symbol tells the story of the first four tumultuous years of the U.S. Army's occupation of West Berlin and how Berlin became the epicenter of superpower confrontation across all of Europe. The division of Berlin with occupation by Western and Soviet military forces set the stage for the decades-long face-off between the U.S. Army and Soviet forces until the Fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989.
Ultimately it was the citizens of Berlin who played a major role in determining the fate and political direction of their city and the whole of Germany until it's reintegration as a unified nation.
Get a first-hand account of this book on our blog: https://govbooktalk.gpo.gov/2017/12/18/holiday-reads-for-year-end-2017/
The City Becomes a Symbol : The U.S. Army in the Occupation of Berlin, 1945-1949
by
Title variant: United States Army in the occupation of Berlin
"This book covers the period between the closing days of World War II in Europe in 1945 and the culmination of the Berlin airlift in 1949. It is based on the records of the U.S. military government in Berlin, the official records of many of the U.S. Army elements involved in the occupation, and the military and diplomatic correspondence of senior leaders in the United States, Britain, and France. Although much of it is focused upon the U.S. Army units involved in the occupation, the nature of events in Berlin requires a different perspective. This is also a story of soldier-diplomats, whose actions during the first five years of the occupation laid the groundwork for U.S.-Soviet relations for the rest of the twentieth century. And finally, it is also the story of the citizens of West Berlin, whose activism during the early postwar years rejected the overtures of Communist emissaries and firmly oriented their portion of the city toward the West."--From the Preface.
GPO Bookstore: The City Becomes a Symbol tells the story of the first four tumultuous years of the U.S. Army's occupation of West Berlin and how Berlin became the epicenter of superpower confrontation across all of Europe. The division of Berlin with occupation by Western and Soviet military forces set the stage for the decades-long face-off between the U.S. Army and Soviet forces until the Fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989.
Ultimately it was the citizens of Berlin who played a major role in determining the fate and political direction of their city and the whole of Germany until it's reintegration as a unified nation.
Get a first-hand account of this book on our blog: https://govbooktalk.gpo.gov/2017/12/18/holiday-reads-for-year-end-2017/
See also page on President Kennedy:
The Kennedy Tapes
by
This topic may also fall under military intelligence, reconnaissance and foreign relations.
This covers Desert Storm as well as other military events in the area.
These are a few suggestions. Check our library catalog for more.
These are just a few suggestions.
Tip of the Spear : U.S. Army Small-Unit Action in Iraq, 2004-2007
by
Online through our library catalog.
LibGuides summary: "The lightning campaign that toppled the Saddam Hussein regime in Iraq in the spring of 2003 at first seemed to herald the arrival of a new way of war, as Germany's blitzkrieg had done at the beginning of World War II. But the initial victory in Iraq soon devolved into a persistent counterinsurgency conflict reminiscent of the long U.S. effort to pacify the Philippines after the quick defeat of Spain in 1898. In Iraq, American soldiers and their Coalition partners had merely traded one fairly weak and generally conventional opponent for a much more durable, diverse, and determined foe relying on the tactics of the guerilla and the terrorist. This volume focuses on that second and longer campaign of the war in Iraq, but it is not a narrative of the overall course of the conflict. Instead, it provides a soldier's-eye view of the war in the form of detailed accounts of a handful of battles.Each one illustrates the everyday challenges that America's soldiers face in a difficult struggle against an inventive and often elusive enemy. Weapons, doctrine, and procedures developed to fight a conventional campaign against a similar opposing force had to be adapted to fit a different type of conflict. The U.S. Army's combat and support forces have shown both resourcefulness and resilience, while leaders and soldiers in the field have demonstrated the same courage as previous generations called upon to sacrifice in the name of freedom. These stories not only symbolize the tip of the spear formed by units in contact, but they also represent the contributions of all American men and women who have served their country in Operation Iraqi Freedom. Taken together, these accounts will provide our deploying leaders and soldiers a better understanding of the environment that they will encounter and prepare them for the work that must be done. Current members of the military and those who are considering a military career path would benefit from this publication to learn about the work they may encounter in the future. Students and teachers would find this helpful for educational purposes. Other related products: Small Unit Actions is available here:https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/008-029-00141-1 Iraq & Persian Gulf Wars collection can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/catalog/us-military-history/battles-wars/iraq-persian-gulf-wars Global War on Terror collection can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/catalog/us-military-history/battles-wars/global-war-terror Other products produced by the U.S. Army, Center of Military History can be found here:https://bookstore.gpo.gov/agency/1061"
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.